This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 Flower buds of Papaver orientale ‘Double Pleasure’  unfurling in the Alberta Perennial Trial garden at the Calgary Zoo.

I must admit, I was nervous driving in to work today. Some parts of Calgary were hit with golf ball-sized hail yesterday! I wasn’t  at work at the time and didn’t know if there was damage to the gardens at the zoo. I had visions of shredded perennials covering the soil – I have seen the damage hail can wreak on a garden in Alberta. It can be devastating and would certainly ruin our data results for the year.

Fortunately, I was pleasantly surprised. There was hail at the zoo, but it was small and damage to the plants in the trial garden was minimal. Some of the plants with larger leaves had a bit of damage to the foliage, but all in all, we were very lucky!

